You OTTER come visit…

by

Otters!  I have recently learned that people love otters.  Evidence:

Families at Breakfast with the Otters

Families at Breakfast with the Otters

I attended the summer’s first “Breakfast with the Otters” last Saturday.  It was full of small children and delicious food. 

A family at the breakfast

A family at the breakfast

July 6th was the first summer board meeting, followed by a reception.  There was a fairly nice crowd, with donors from around the area.  I got to sit with “Mu,” who told me how she started investing when she was 15 with the change leftover from buying groceries.  Makes me feel a tad lazy, but…

"Mu" greeting Mr. Lowe

"Mu" greeting Mr. Lowe

Other than that I have been working on grants and sponsorship letters.  I was made the “Project Manager” of a summer communication plan with the top 400 donors at the museum. Our first mailing went out on July 1st and the second is slated to go out on the 23rd.  It involves a lot of ordering of “fancy” paper and colorful envelopes.  But seriously, it gives me a great opportunity to collaborate with the board members as an equal contributor to the project. 

Obie, the board president, who actually knows me by name!

Obie, the board president, who actually knows me by name!

I still hike, and hills are still difficult.  Last Sunday I lost a trail in the middle of a lake, which was great fun.  Needless to say, very wet shoes.

"Bridge" I walked across for half of the lake before it inexplicably ended

"Bridge" I walked across for half of the lake before it inexplicably ended

I have also started thesis work, beginning the interview process last Sunday, only to dread when I finish it to embark on the transcription process…

Susan’s dogs and cats have left, so the menagerie has dissipated.  Just before they left:

Susan's cat Zingo with a "cone of shame" because of an abcess that had to be drained.

Susan's cat Zingo with a "cone of shame" because of an abcess begging for tuna (with his meds in it).

2 Responses to “You OTTER come visit…”

  1. mflinton Says:

    Mary, nice update! Hope you enjoy the direct board contact and getting to know the individual personalities, talents, skills and abilities involved.

    Just remember, “Each of us is unique, just like everyone else in the world.”

    Since you sent your message about the blog I’ve heard from Johanna and created a blog account. Still trying to learn how to post text & pic files, but I’m sure I’ll get there soon … probably about the first day of class in the Fall.

    Michael

  2. gretchensorin Says:

    I’m really looking forward to seeing the Wild Center. It looks like a really dynamic and engaging museum.

Leave a Reply

