Job Perks

by

Induction weekend is fast approaching and the latest estimates have attendance between twenty and thirty thousand. Since the Hall of Fame doesn’t sell tickets to the event, there is no way to actually know how many people are coming to Cooperstown, but I’m sure it will be higher than last year (Goose Gossage) and lower than 2007 (Cal Ripken, Jr. and Tony Gwynn). Red Sox fans will show up to support Jim Rice and who doesn’t love Rickey Henderson? He’s the all-time stolen bases leader and there is a very real possibility that he will do his induction speech in third person! I’ll be helping with set up and take down all weekend, which I’m okay with. Keeps me away from any visitor services type responsibilities.

I was planning to post on a different blog entry, one I had written for the Hall of Fame website, but unfortunately it has been pushed back until August. They asked me to write about a recently accessioned object, and I researched a baseball signed by the Detroit Tigers replacement team, recruited in the spring of 1995 during the big strike. Everyone liked it, but PR decided they only wanted publish happy things without any hint of controversy in the weeks leading up to Induction Weekend. I guess I understand the decision, but it’s still annoying. As long as it hasn’t been permanently nixed I’ll be happy.

Before I go, here are a few pictures from one of my happiest days working at the Hall of Fame.

Maddux Jersey
Jersey worn by Greg Maddux when he recorded his 3,000th strikeout.

Wood's Hat
The better quality picture is on the computer at work, but this one will do. This hat was worn by Kerry Wood on May 6, 1998, when he struck out 20 batters, matching the major league record and setting the National League record for strikeouts in a single game. This event is my first happy baseball memory.

Just one of the perks that comes with the job.

Dr. Matt Destruction’s Song to Sing-Along to: “Daylight” by Matt & Kim
BONUS TRACK: “The Legionnaire’s Lament” by The Decemberists

Leave a Reply

